Help! My partner is cheating

I walked in on them and if you have never been cheated on, it is the most excruciating pain more than physical pain. You want to be angry at the culprit who has taken your place but remember it is your unfaithful partner who should be getting the stick!

The mental pain of what else could my partner have lied about? Did my partner really mean it with the, “I love you” phrase said to me almost every minute then gradually ‘matured’ to once in a good mood period? Am I to blame, that I did not see it coming? Did my partner really tell me the truth about me being the only one? Not the first one but the ONLY one.

2704DB8200000578-3013254-image-m-43_1427390075604

The emotional pain of still loving them but the thought of an unfaithful partner prodding your heart like how you would prod meat in a barbecue. Darn! How could this happen to me? How could they do this to me? I have loved and been everything but unfaithful. The pain of having to burn and destroy everything that reminds you of your partner. The pain of having to delete all pictures from your phone and those you had posted on social media. The pain of finding something to fill in the void left. The pain of having to smile even when asked how you guys are doing, for some, lie between your teeth that you have never been better! Lest they sneer and say we knew it would never work between you two. The thought that those times you spent together will now be nothing but lonely quiet moments as you try hard not to reminisce about your time together. Will you ever learn to trust someone else again? The horror!!

You find yourself immersed in a sea of questions. So, was it really worth it? My heart broken in several tiny pieces that still have shrapnel of that bomb you dropped on our ‘home’. What demon possessed you to walk away on the foundation we have built, you ask.


This graphic illustration of what goes through the mind and soul of a partner who’s been cheated on brings me to understand how my heavenly father in heaven feels about our adultery.

Revelation 22
Message to the Church in Thyatira
21‘I gave her time to repent, and she does not want to repent of her immorality. 22Behold, I will throw her on a bed of sickness, and those who commit adultery with her into great tribulation, unless they repent of her deeds. 23‘And I will kill her children with pestilence, and all the churches will know that I am He who searches the minds and hearts; and I will give to each one of you according to your deeds.…

God created man (biblical man- male and female) in His own image and likeness, blessed him and told him to be fruitful and fill the earth. God desired an intimacy with man in the garden; where He would speak to them one on one and they would enjoy His presence and each others companionship.

Whenever we go against God’s instructions in His word – The Bible – we are being unfaithful to Him. Anytime you love something more than God, you are being unfaithful and He is a jealous God. He longs for you to love Him back. You might not match His deep love but all He asks is that you OBEY him and trust him – by faith, for without faith in Him, we displease Him; that you worship and praise His mighty works and faithful acts in your life. Think about the time that someone tells you that they have no confidence in you and chooses you over another? ~Story of another day

1 John 5
Overcoming the World
3For this is the love of God, that we keep His commandments; and His commandments are not burdensome. 4For whatever is born of God overcomes the world; and this is the victory that has overcome the world– our faith. 5Who is the one who overcomes the world, but he who believes that Jesus is the Son of God?…

You might think He is not seeing but He is the all-seeing God, sees all, hears all – where can you hide from Him. May His wrath not come upon you because you failed to repent.

heartbreak-vector-illustration-torn-heart-breakup-concept-30520301

The comfort and encouragement we draw from this, unlike human relationships that can lead to no return (in the relation), is that God is always willing and ready to welcome us back like the prodigal son. He loves us and even before we first knew Him or loved Him back.

Prayer:

Lord God,  I realize that have been unfaithful in my relationship with you. The many times have loved anything or anyone more than you (name your idols), I seek your forgiveness and repent of all sins of that I remember (name them) and those I do not remember. Holy Spirit I welcome your presence and help me not to continue grieving you. May I walk in the light as you are in the light; may I be an encouragement to others through my testimony. For I pray this in the most holy name of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, AMEN

© Caleb Bett and living water and bread of life, 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Caleb Bett and living water and bread of life, 2016 with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. kathy says:

    for a moment there i thought…..then a whole different story develops….nice piece

Leave a Reply

