Oops me and my mouth

5da45d35c3ea114d66c71632b58cc518

Psalms 141:3 Set a guard, O LORD, over my mouth; Keep watch over the door of my lips.

I am one person who is very quick with my tongue and if you are like me, you know what usually follows.

What I do is wrong but I get so charged up in the heat of the moment and words fly by, one after another and before you know it, people are looking at you like…oh oh. You just didn’t say that?! I am one defensive guy and it doesn’t matter if am wrong or right; nothing beats a good argument.

I have read scripture and thank God for His word that is new every morning and refreshes my life each day. I have 2 ears and one mouth so that I can hear and listen double what I talk (well makes logical sense to me).

James 1:19 This you know, my beloved brethren. But everyone must be quick to hear, slow to speak and slow to anger;

As a believer, I am almost always immediately convicted whenever I blurt out a word or an argument in foolishness. Foolish talk is not uncommon in our society and what grieves the Holy Spirit is the commonality among believers. As a community of believers, we have become so accustomed to saying it is okay since I am just like that. It is in me. God knows me for me and as such will understand.

My mentor, Rick Warren, and whom I follow very much talks about this in his article on “Slow to speak”

The truth is yes, God knows you for you. He had a purpose and plan for you right before you were born, when He was laying the foundations of the earth. I do not think that in His plan He made you to have a tongue that is loose and full of foolish talk.

You would ask me, brother Caleb, what is foolish talk, well, the bible in Ephesians 4:29, clearly states that it is:
Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.

So, ask yourself, one, Does it build your neighbor up? Two, Does it benefit those who happen to be listening to you either primarily as your audience or secondary as passers-by?

Paul in the same book of Ephesians 5 verse 4 adds that; “…and there must be no filthiness and silly talk, or coarse jesting, which are not fitting, but rather giving of thanks.” Other versions like NIV, capture the phrase, foolish talk – “New International Version
Nor should there be obscenity, foolish talk or coarse joking, which are out of place, but rather thanksgiving.”

Is God being glorified not only in your actions but also in your words and thoughts(topic for another day)?

The book of James 1:26 tells us that, “If anyone thinks himself to be religious, and yet does not bridle his tongue but deceives his own heart, this man’s religion is worthless.”

What is to bridle? Basically from NIV it talks of control your tongue. So, let us not deceive our own hearts by not controlling our tongues. Watch your words for it can either build or destroy. 

How many of us, speak something to our neighbor then just brush it aside with, “I was just kidding.” Well being a joker I at times, I admit to doing that to those around me. It is all fun and games until the Holy Spirit convicts me with the scripture in, Proverbs 26:19 is one who deceives their neighbor and says, “I was only joking!”

I thank God for the Holy Spirit who convicts us of our actions and words.

Conclusion: Every morning I wake up, I want my prayer to be the words of the psalmist

Psalms 39:1 For the choir director, for Jeduthun. A Psalm of David. I said, “I will guard my ways That I may not sin with my tongue; I will guard my mouth as with a muzzle While the wicked are in my presence.”

Prayer:

Dear Lord, teach me to control my tongue and that you may put a guard over my mouth. To learn from how you created us with one mouth and two ears. Father, let us bring joy to you with our words and do grant us wisdom to know when to be silent and when to say something. In Jesus name I pray and believe. Amen

Leave a Reply

